Hypermobility Syndrome

The official description for Hypermobility Syndrome according to the Arthritis Research website is:

Hypermobility just means that you can move some or all of your joints more than most people can. It’s often known as being double-jointed and doctors sometimes refer to it as joint hyperlaxity. Hypermobile joints are very common and most people won’t have any problems. It can be an advantage for some people, such as dancers, musicians and gymnasts.

However, a minority of people with hypermobile joints experience pain or other symptoms, and this is called joint hypermobility syndrome or benign joint hypermobility syndrome (BJHS). Some people may find that they’re affected by joint hypermobility syndrome to the point where everyday tasks become difficult to manage.

I’ve been hypermobile since a very young age. I can bend my thumbs backwards with ease, stretch my fingers backwards and I can do all sorts of weird things with my arms. My joints pop out of place very easily, especially my knees and fingers and I had to give up ballet lessons as a child because of this. I have to be very careful taking gloves off, for example, because chances are if I pull a glove off then a finger will come out of its socket. Lovely! I’ve got used to manipulating my joints back into place though but sometimes I need some help with my knees as they can be a bit stubborn.

Living with Hypermobility Syndrome should come with a warning. Warning – you’re going to dislocate your joints at a moments notice. Warning – you might have a curved spine which will lead to back pain. Warning – you’re going to be in a lot of pain. It’s not about doing funky things with your joints to show off to your friends and making them squirm, it’s about having an entirely new way of living.

Leave a comment